The Love of my Life

I recently began my second semester of my fourth year in college. On the first day of a class composed of 23 females and only 1 male, I sat a table with a group of four other women. I have had all of these women in class before. However, sitting with them this time was different. The woman to the left of me got married over the christmas break. The woman to the left of her, got engaged over christmas break, the woman to the left of her has been married for quite some time. Lastly the woman to the left of her was talking with her boyfriend over the break about when they would get married.

So here I am, 22 years old… sitting with 4 women who are all talking about the loves of their life (nothing wrong with that). In my mind though, I am wondering what on earth I could contribute to the conversation. Because Lord knows, ain’t no man in my life they gonna be hearing about. You see I noticed that often, when people are newly “in love” or as Dr. Chapmen puts it in the 5 love languages “obsessed”, that person or part of their life tends to be the topic of discussion. It’s what they often think about, who they want to be with, where they would rather be than sitting in a college classroom. As all of this was going through my head I suddenly got the desire to eat some pizza. Like maybe some Pizza Hut meat-lovers, OH! or some New York style from Fatty’s. Then it hit me. Pizza is the love of my life.

As I sat thec8cc43192ea5e0b3d8008fe5d05dedcbre in that chair thinking about pizza, knowing it would be a good three hours before I could even have the chance to see it, it was like Celine Dion was on my shoulder singing My Heart Will Go On… (I thought about making a music video for you to watch, but couldn’t figure out how add a video with paying or using Youtube). However, I am sure you can imagine what that my look like.  

For me, pizza is often the topic of discussion. If you ask me what I want to eat, you can safely assume that I will say pizza. Ask me at any given moment what I am thinking about, and more often than you would think, it will have something to do with pizza. For instance I was once commuting home and spent the whole 40 minutes thinking about a pizza club idea my friends had and how awesome it would be to all eat pizza together as a meeting. As in WE ARE MEETING JUST TO EAT PIZZA! Just yesterday I hugged a girl just because her shirt said that she too loved pizza. As a kid Pizza Angel  was my favorite of Silly Songs with Larry.3b10961b068b0da1e63c79253a256474

Point being, even now, I want to be with pizza. I am thinking “How I am going to have pizza tonight? where am I going to get it from? will I invite others to share in my joy? Should I order in or go out? Should I make it myself?” The only problem is, this kind of love never last. It’s here one minute and gone the next. But you know what they say, the best things in life never do. So please, if your eating pizza, raise your slices as a toast. Here’s to being the single sibling.

dominos-pizza-delivery-relationship

One thought on “The Love of my Life”

Leave a comment